This is Only Temporary

This is a painting that I did as a final project for my second year Painting class at UFV. I am really interested in old books, especially children’s books and the relationship they have with us as we grow older. In this painting I began to explore ideas around the transition from youth; I was especially interested in how experience taints us and forces us to “grow up”. I collaged pages from old children’s books to create the skin on the figure to symbolize the marks that knowledge makes on us. It is interesting to me that once any kind of knowledge is obtained, it is impossible to return to the ignorance of youth. In this piece I am concerned with the ephemeral aspect of youth, but also beauty. It is inevitable that we will die and the qualities of youth and beauty are both fleeting.

Leave a comment

Filed under studies

Leave a Reply

